Sunshine Coast boundaries to stay as is

Sunshine Coast Council Logo

Mayor Mark Jamieson has welcomed the decision by Local Government Minister David Crisafulli that further changes to Sunshine Coast boundaries will not proceed.
In July, Sunshine Coast Council voted unanimously to keep its boundaries the same to protect the region and ensure certainty, stability and unity and safeguard the interests of people in Eumundi, Doonan, Verrierdale and Weyba Downs.
Mayor Jamieson said Eumundi, Doonan, Verrierdale and Weyba Downs had been part of the Sunshine Coast Council area and former Maroochy local government area for more than a century.
“Their unique character and attributes are celebrated by Council and this region. Council welcomes the Minister’s news as we continue to service, support and resource these communities as we have done 1890,” Mayor Jamieson said.
“I have spoken to the Minister and he has confirmed he has written to residents who made submissions regarding the proposed boundary change.
“Minister Crisafulli’s decision is welcomed as it will ease the concerns and confusion that has been generated for many residents about the potential for a boundary change.
“Since adopting its position, Council has received numerous letters and emails of support from residents in Eumundi, Doonan, Verrierdale and Weyba Downs, welcoming Council’s stance and indicating that they wish to see their communities remain within the Sunshine Coast Council area.
“In my view, the Minister’s decision further reinforces that Council has taken the correct stance on this matter in the interests of the affected communities and the region as a whole.
“This council is getting on with the job, striving to make Sunshine Coast the most sustainable place in Australia – a sustainable economy, environment and community.
“We look forward to working with communities across the region to deliver that goal.”