Pre-polling opens for de-amlgamation votes

Pre-polling booths open today in the four areas seeking to de-amalgamate from their regional councils.
Voters in Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Port Douglas go to the polls on March 9 but can cast an earlier vote if they are unavailable on polling day.
“I’ve said time and time again that this is an important vote for these communities and I’d urge them to read the Boundaries Commissioner’s report to get the information they need,” Local Government Minister David Crisafulli said.
Pre-poll addresses are:

  • Noosa Area Returning Officer’s Office, ECOM Noosa, 95 Eumundi Road, Noosaville; Peregian Beach Community House, 255 David Low Way, Peregian Beach; Cooroy Pre-Poll Office, Cooroy RSL & Citizens Memorial Bowls Club, 5 Opal Street, Cooroy.
  • Livingstone Area Returning Officer’s Office, Yeppoon Court House, 21-23 Normanby Street, Yeppoon
  • Mareeba Area Returning Officer’s Office, Post Office Centre, Shop 7, 94 Byrnes ST, Mareeba; Kuranda Pre-Poll Office, CWA Hall, 20 Thongon Street, Kuranda
  • Douglas Area Returning Officer’s Office, 3-7 Mill St, Mossman; Port Douglas Community Hall, 13-29 Mowbray Street, Port Douglas.

Voting is compulsory and $110 fines will apply to non-voters.
De-amalgamation information is available at
Referendum information is available at