Nominations Called for Nominations for 2014 National Disability Awards

3 June, 2014
Author: Charles Hodgson

Member for Fisher Mal Brough MP has welcomed the opening of Nominations for the 2014 National Disability Awards, giving Australians the opportunity to celebrate the individuals and organisations who are having a positive impact on the lives of people with disability.
“As the Chair of the National Disability Insurance Scheme committee I have been humbled and privileged to hear from so many people who are heroes for the role they play in supporting a person with a disability. In some cases they are supporting two or even three family members,” Mr Brough said.
“The National Disability Awards will allow us to recognise people across a wide range of sectors who are working to provide opportunities for economic and social participation for people with disability,” Mr Brough said.
Assistant Minister for Social Services, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield said the awards highlight and celebrate the work of people who are making outstanding contributions to our national effort to improve the lives of people with disability.
“They also help build awareness of disability issues and recognise the important role people with disability play in their local communities and across the country,” Senator Fifield said.
Mr Brough said that nominations opened on 3 June 2014 and close on 18 July. An awards ceremony will be held in Canberra later this year to announce recipients.
“I encourage people on the Sunshine Coast to identify and nominate individuals and organisations in our community who are helping to improve the lives of people with disability,” Mr Brough said.
“The Awards are one of the ways people can encourage support for people with disability and increase awareness of the benefits of extending more opportunities for people with disability to be included in work and society,” Mr Brough said.
Mr Brough said this year there are eight award categories, each highlighting an area where champions of people with disability are making a difference.
To nominate for the National Disability Awards, go to or call 1800 672 682. TTY users please call 1800 555 677 and ask for 1800 672 682.
A list of award categories are included below.
**National Disability Awards 2014: Categories
** 1.         Lesley Hall Award for Lifetime Achievement in Disability
2.         Emerging Leaders Award in Disability
3.         Improving Inclusive and Accessible Communities Award
4.         Improving Advocacy and Rights Promotion Award
5.         Improving Employment Opportunities Award
6.         Improving Personal and Community Support Award
7.         Improving Education Outcomes Award
8.         Improving Health and Wellbeing Outcomes Award