Date set for Noosa De-amalgamation vote

David Crisafulli – Minister for Local Government

March 9 has been set as the date for the de-amalgamation vote for the former Noosa, Livingstone, Mareeba and Douglas Shire Council areas.
Local Government Minister David Crisafulli said all registered voters living inside the former boundaries will be required to cast their vote in person at polling booths.
“This is a very important decision and I’m urging everyone to look at all the information ahead of the poll,” he said.
“The costs have been clearly outlined and locals can decide if the financial pain is worth getting their council back.”
The referendum will be run by the Electoral Commission of Queensland.
De-amalgamation information is available at