Councils begins library separation ahead of de-amalgamation

Sunshine Coast Council - Queensland - Australia

Sunshine Coast Council - Queensland - AustraliaAs part of de-amalgamation and the pending re-establishment of the former Noosa Shire Council, Sunshine Coast Council will begin separating the regional library service to establish two independent library services by June 2014. The separation will occur in two stages. As of 1 January 2014 the Cooroy and Noosa Library buildings, the mobile library and all Noosa Shire based staff will transfer to the new Noosa Shire Council.
The two Council’s will then continue working together on the second stage which will be to separate the library collections and cataloguing systems no later than 30 June 2014. During this stage, staff in the two Council’s will be given the necessary time to separate the library service materials into two independent library services and to inform library members and users of the changes.
Deputy Mayor Chris Thompson said that in 2013, the people of Noosa voted to de-amalgamate from the Sunshine Coast Council and form the new Noosa Shire Council and that State Legislation dictated that the Sunshine Coast Council must transfer staff, assets and equipment to the new Noosa Shire Council to enable that council to create its new local government and associated services.
“Sunshine Coast Council has determined that this is to include that part of the current library service within the new Noosa Shire Council area,” he said.
“This means the new Noosa Shire Council will operate the Noosa and Cooroy Libraries and the ongoing Sunshine Coast Council will operate the remaining eight libraries in the region. Both councils will continue to operate mobile library services in their respective local government area.
I would like to reassure the community that Sunshine Coast Council remains committed to delivering high quality library services in welcoming and vibrant community spaces where people can interact, connect, learn and explore.”
Community Programs Portfolio Councillor Jenny McKay said that while there will be a period of readjustment for library users, it is anticipated that residents from both the Sunshine Coast and Noosa local government areas will be able to apply for a library card to access the library closest to them, whether that library be in the Noosa or Sunshine Coast local government areas.
“It will be just the same as borrowing from libraries in other council areas, you will need to become a member of each library service and hold two library cards,” Cr McKay said.
“The biggest change will be for library users who have become accustomed to collecting, borrowing, returning and reserving items from the different library locations across the coast – in both the Sunshine Coast Council and the new Noosa Shire local government areas.
“From 1 January, you will only be able to return, borrow, reserve and collect your loan items at the library service (Noosa or Sunshine Coast) from where the items were borrowed.
“While Council will try to limit the impacts on library users as the separation of the libraries is undertaken, I would like to thank the public in advance for their patience and understanding during this transition period”.
Library members will be kept informed by a range of methods including council’s website, Library member’s e-newsletter, council’s e-newsletter and fact sheets will be available at library branches across the Coast. Alternatively, if you have any further questions don’t hesitate to talk to one of our friendly library staff or phone 1300 LIBRARY (542 727).