Boardrider’s Champ of Champs decided at Coolum

2012 Coolum Boardriders Champ of Champs finalists Daniel Maudsley, Kirra Green, Jimi Wallace and Jake Vincent

Coolum Boardriders held their Champion of Champions event and annual Club Presentations last Saturday, with organisers witnessing some great surfing from members despite the disappointing swell.
“The groms lapped up the conditions, all surfing well enough to knock a few of the older and larger members out,” commented Club President Darryl Maudsley.
“In the end, the younger guys ruled the day with the entire final made up of surfers under 19.”
Jimi Wallace emerged in first place, while 16-years-old Kirra Green put in a fantastic effort to finish second ahead of Daniel Maudsley and Jake Vincent in third and fourth respectively.
As a testament to the Club’s family friendly atmosphere, Kirra’s second placing and his dad John’s semi final appearance also secured them the ‘highest placed family’ in the highly anticipated ‘Champ of Champs’ end-of-year event, while a pairing with John’s novice son Jacki also saw them take out the ‘Family Novice/Parent assist division, relegating the talented Parkinson family to second place.
It was the Barraclough family in third; followed closely by the Reynolds in fourth, the Pocock family in fifth and the Smiths finishing in sixth place.
Coolum Boardrider of the Year, Jake Vincent

Jimi Wallace capped off his Blue Ribbon day by claiming the converted Club Open Men`s Title for the second time, edging out Jake Vincent, who then took home the year`s Junior Title, up-and-comer Kirra Green finishing runner up.
In the tightly fought under 14 grommet division, Jack Veale held off Jayden Lepitit for 2012 Champion trophy.
The annual women’s division title went to Isabella Nichols, with Kara Petersen finishing second.
Isabella also claimed the junior girls title over fellow surfer Jaleesa Vincent and both girls are currently competing in the Australian Junior Surfing Titles, being held in Tasmania.
In the under 16 cadets, Kirra Green claimed the trophy for the second year with Isabella Nichols in second, while Caleb Hardy and Kara Petersen were named as the mini-groms Champs of the year.
In the always competitive Micro Groms division, Zane Assink edged out Jye Parkinson to claim the trophy.
Craig Masters grabbed the title in the senior men`s division, it was, and while Grant Jenkins had to settle for runner-up in seniors, he took solace in posting a victory in the hotly contested Masters division, relegating Dean Parkinson to second.
“This win has now given Grant a club championship in every division from grommets up; that’s a pretty remarkable feat,” Darryl Maudsley said.
Most improved awards were Grommet Jayden Lepitit, Cadet Luke Philp, Junior Seb Raubenheimer, Girls Ali Gilson, Mini Grom Josh Hides and Micro Grom Luddy Reynolds.
The Mini and Micro Grom Rising Stars Awards went to Jesse Parkinson and Ellia Smith, with Club Spirit trophies awarded to Sam Austin and The Parkinson Family. Special
“This year’s Boardrider of the Year is Jake Vincent, while Brad Lee was honoured with a Special Contribution Award.
“Special thanks also to Helen Vincent and Erika Henderson for their help throughout the year,” Mr Maudlsey concluded.